Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Barrel length

Downloads
    Uploads

Barrel length

Anybody have an idea how 16 inches became the most common length for AR weapons? Why not 18 inches?

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Downloads
    Uploads
    It’s the shortest legal length. I think if there was no NFA we would see 11.5 and 14.5 as the norm.
    FFL 07/ NFA 02
    TWN Certified Hydro Dipper

Downloads
    Uploads
    I agree with Viper. It's the law.

I will defer on this point because I have zero military experience but rather add an additional question into the mix... for those that have been in the military isn't a 14.5 the standard issue? Isn't the M4 a standard 14.5 inch length?

I would speculate that 14.5" is probably the best all around length for 5.56 in regards to terminal ballistics, reliability, wear on guns, etc.

How they came up with a random number of 16" is beyond me. That was made by politicians not gun people.

Downloads
    Uploads

Barrel length

Politicians had 1934 mob-owned firearms in mind when they wrote the 16” rule.
    Last edited by fledge; 7 February 2018 at 12:49.

Downloads
    Uploads
    Quote Originally Posted by fledge View Post
    Politicians has 1934 mob-owned firearms in mind when they wrote the 16” rule.
    I had that in mind too. That law definitely pre-dates any M16 or AR platform.

Downloads
    Uploads
    Quote Originally Posted by porterdavid98 View Post
    Anybody have an idea how 16 inches became the most common length for AR weapons? Why not 18 inches?

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
    Other than the Law/NFA that's been mentioned, I think 18" and above are just a little too long for carbine work.

Downloads
    Uploads
    Quote Originally Posted by UWone77 View Post
    Other than the Law/NFA that's been mentioned, I think 18" and above are just a little too long for carbine work.
    Absolutely