Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
    Downloads
    Uploads

Forward assist - Y or N?

This might be heresy, but I think I've got enough assembled lowers so I'm just building uppers as the whim hits me now. The one I'm currently contemplating is going to be a basic, no frills, semi-lightweight - flat top receiver, slim profile 14.5" barrel with a pinned/welded flash hider under a 13" free float rail with a fixed front sight, rail for a light, QD mount point for a sling, quality BCG, lightweight RDS, etc. I ordered most everything and then just surfed the web for a bit afterwards. Turns out what I'm building strongly resembles a Thunder Ranch Standard rifle. I see that Clint eschews a forward assist on the rifles. I've been using AR-type rifles for ~20 years for recreation & work. I've always used good quality ammo and have never shot Wolf or similar stuff, and have never needed to use the forward assist on any of my rifles. I'm tempted to get an Aero Precision slick side upper and use that for the build. Seems to me if I get a round not chambering I'm gonna do a malfunction drill rather than try to shove the round in. If it still doesn't feed after that, I've got bigger issues.

To get to the point, has anyone here ever had a real world need for the FA?

Downloads
    Uploads
    Only once, and it wasn't for a malfunction. It was night, I heard something move in the house, and at that point in my life it was only me and the wife. No kids yet. She was laying beside me so obviously it wasn't her bumping around the place. I grabbed what was at that time my only AR (grabbed it instead of the pistol because it had the weapon light). It had a loaded mag, I lightly and slowly used the charging handle in an attempt to quietly chamber a round. Due to a lack of inertia it didn't want to seat.... so I used the forward assist.

In the end it just turned out to be the tree dropping crab apples on the roof.