Downloads
    Uploads

Photo Lens question

I just purchased a Canon M50 and could use a little help and advise. I'm looking for a great "walking around" lens. I've hear that prime lenses in 35mm to 50mm. Does any of the many photographers weigh in on this? Thank you for your advice in advance, If it helps, I'm a complete Newb at this. Am studying books and manuals. It's a lens that I could focus and shoot, as a newb.

Anyway, this is getting fun, but I'm still a dumbass on the subject. Damn, even working out of the of the Newb books, it's a bitch, but I think I can make it with all of the cool photog folks here. I guess I'm not running, but going at supersonic speeds down the rabbit hole.

Thanks for all of your support and help, trying to get over this major hump from a total ignoramus, to at least knowing the basics.

Thanks,

FT
    NRA Life Member
    Deplorables Life Member
    Bible and Gun Clinger
    Filthy Stinking Wal Mart Shopper

Downloads
    Uploads
    FT, I know the pros on here will correct me, but ...

Think back to 35mm film cameras. The film frame was 35mm x 50mm. Held in the "normal" position, 50mm was the long edge of the film. That meant a 50mm lens was "What you see is what you get" that is, no reduction or magnification. Now, bring that out of the 14th century to modern day digital cameras. My understanding is that when using a crop frame camera (APS-C like the Canon M50), 35mm is now the "what you see is what you get", and a full frame camera it would be back to the 50mm for normal viewing/capturing. I could be way off base there, but.

For a Canon APS-C camera, Canon offers several variable lens that cover that spectrum with room on either side. I don't know if you want to spring for an "L" series lens which would work on full frame or APS-C, but in their EF-S line they have a 17-85MM and an 18-135mm. Street price for either is under $400