Hybrid View

Downloads
    Uploads

To crimp, or not to crimp? Reloading 223 ammo for AR15's.

To crimp, or not to crimp, that is the question.

I just started loading my own 223 tonight and it is intended for use with my semi-auto AR rifles. I have 100 rounds ready to go. I have not crimped any of them.

Is crimping my 223 really necessary?

I've been loading 224 Valkyrie and 308 for a few months now and have sent hundreds of these rounds down range successfully without any crimping. If it works for the 224 Valkyrie and 308 in semi-auto rifles, why wouldn't I achieve the same results with my non crimped 223?

What philosophy do you subscribe to and why?

Downloads
    Uploads
    I read into everything when I first started also, bullet setback, pressures etc..btw you should check some of your loads after clambering a few times. Just to know what your loads are doing.

If it has a cannelure , I’m putting a Crimp on it. How much. You will have to test for your rifles.

To me after testing I would put a small crimp on all my 55/62 gr range fodder/556 loads.

My more precision like rds I did not usually. Although I did with some Nosler 77’s that had no cannelure.

Of course I’m talking ARs, no way would I on a bolt gun.

Downloads
    Uploads
    I use a "light to medium" crimp using a Lee Factory Crimp Die on pretty much everything for a semi-auto. Haven't done any real accuracy testing with and without to see how much difference it makes, though.

Downloads
    Uploads
    I am a very light to light crimper.

Downloads
    Uploads
    I don’t crimp anything rifle.

Neck tension does enough for me

Downloads
    Uploads
    Quote Originally Posted by Former11B View Post
    I don’t crimp anything rifle.

Neck tension does enough for me

I use to play that game, but in a semi auto I want a slight crimp. As I set some brass aside a while ago, and after about the 5-7 firings the neck tension wasn’t enough.. that’s when annealing comes into play

Downloads
    Uploads