Thread: Laser Question

Downloads
    Uploads

Laser Question

I'm looking to put a laser on one or two of my HK USP Compacts. Questions are A), how far out from the target is the laser effective, and B), I see red and green lasers, any practical difference between them?

Thanks
    FT
    NRA Life Member
    Deplorables Life Member
    Bible and Gun Clinger
    Filthy Stinking Wal Mart Shopper

Downloads
    Uploads
    I have used lasers ever since I started pistol shooting, so I like to think I have some experience with them.

Effective distance is dictated by lighting conditions, target size, target contrast, and how well you know your offset for your zero and laser. FWIW, I've been able to easily engage a reduced sized IPSC steel at 25 yards with my laser at night before (X400UH-A-GN zeroed for 25 yards), though I would debate taking long range shots based purely off of an eye-safe visible laser in any practical scenario.

Green is significantly easier to pick up, particularly during the day, and is worth the extra cost, IMO, assuming it is a proper green laser rather than a unit that uses frequency doubling.

Downloads
    Uploads
    I toyed with lasers before and the answer is it depends. If it's really bright outside it's really hard to detect. That also depends on the specific surface it's hitting too.

If you are inside your house and want to light up a guy dressed like a ninja it would be ok. If he was wearing a red flannel shirt though not so much.

They are also very prone to being affected by fog or other weather related stuff.

If anything is in between you and your target it is not ideal. I small tree branch or some leaves or whatever makes it less than ideal to me.

I personally shelved the laser idea permanently but that's just me.

Downloads
    Uploads
    Quote Originally Posted by Default.mp3 View Post
    I have used lasers ever since I started pistol shooting, so I like to think I have some experience with them.