Downloads
    Uploads

First budget build

First of all, GREAT place you guys have here. I finally have my "shopping list" of parts and components, and wanted to get some feedback and opinion please!

What I'm looking for

Since this is my first build, I don't want to over-complicate it. I'll mostly be using this as a range gun and would like to have it accommodate in the home defense department as well. The lighter the better, although I don't want to sacrifice for lack of necessary utility. Since I'm also constrained to a budget (I plan on gathering various pieces over time), I'm going with the Spike's / Magpul build. Also I'm in TX if that helps!

Here's what I have

What I'm looking at

Extras (eventual upgrades)

Tools

Questions

1. Is there anything I'm missing?
    2. Anyone know if the Spike's FSB is easily removable? Down the road I'll want to add an optic (Aimpoint or Eotech) and not sure if i'll be co-witnessing. If so I might just prefer to have a Magpul front sight that can flip up if I want.
    Last edited by solarshock; 30 December 2010 at 09:47.

Downloads
    Uploads
    Welcome. It looks like you have put a lot of work into your build plans there and have some solid pieces of gear listed. The DPMS parts kits seem to be hit and miss, so I would probably consider something else. I have been using Stag kits, but there are plenty of other good ones. The Noveske KX3 Flash Suppressor will of course fit on the 16" LW barrel, but will add bulk/weight where it is not needed. The KX3 shines on a SBR. For lights, have you considered an LED instead of an incandescent? I just picked up a Surefire G2X Tactical and only run about $55 and have a 200 lumen output.

Downloads
    Uploads
    I totally agree with Eric. Get a different lower parts kit and ditch the flaming pig (KX3). For a weaponlight, the Surefire G2 series are nice.

Downloads
    Uploads