Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: NEWBY

Downloads
    Uploads

Question NEWBY

good evening
    I am new to the AR15 world and am starting my first build. I have my lower and upper and managed to snag one of the magpul UBR stocks that magpul has not actually announced a release date for. I am now looking at barrels. Can someone tell me if there is a minimum legal length? Also what constitutes a good barrel and can someone recommend some brands. Also is there anything in particular I am looking for when it comes to the bolt? Thanks for any advice.

Downloads
    Uploads
    A barrel has to be at least 16 inches long, unless you attach a muzzle brake, flash suppressor or fake silencer/suppressor. The most common of one shorter than 16 inches is the 14.5 inch barrel with a permanently attached Phantom or Vortex flash suppressor.

You can get a Short Barrel Rifle if it is legal in your state and you apply for and get a $200 tax stamp from the BATFE.

As far as the "best" barrel that's very very subjetive and I wouldn't try to tell you which one was "best".

TS

Downloads
    Uploads
    thanks for the info. It was helpful.

Downloads
    Uploads

noveske?

I have been looking around at the Noveske barrels. I was thinking about one of their 14.5 barrels with one of their flash suppressors. I was interested in the KX3 Flash Suppressor but it does not say that it is intended as a permanent suppressor but does state that it is recommended for short barrel rifles....

Downloads
    Uploads
    They can be permanently attached, and I think you can go down to a 13.something or maybe even 12.something with it.
    As far as good barrels, it depends a lot on what you want to do and what your expectations are. Noveskes are great, as are Shilen. For some factory Colt, Bushmaster, CMMG, or similar are just fine. Stay with some of the major names and you should be fine. You just need to figure out SS/chrome, 1:7, 1:8, 1:9, etc.