Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: 10.5" build

Downloads
    Uploads

10.5" build

Hey, All.

I'm putting together a 10.5 shorty build. I've read in a few places online where some people have problems with the cycling and having failures with such a short barrel and long gas system. (Carbine length) while I'm still an amateur, and relatively new to wevo, I was wondering if you guys could help me out by giving me your input on the matter.
    Busy schedule at work, so I don't get to get on here as much as I'd like, but will be checking this post later.

Thanks, fellas!!

Downloads
    Uploads
    I have a 10.5 MK18 clone. Having said that, the reason I've seen quoted most often on the intertubes is 11.5 has significantly improved reliability. See Paul from BCM's answer below:

Q: Why BCM chose the 11.5" SBR over the 10.5"

I get this question a lot. It is a good one. When we spec our program we can build anything we would like, so we sat down and looked at the pros and cons.

First Statement: I know a good 10.5" SBR can run very well. I personally own a semi MK18 type and it runs great. No problems.

A: Dwell time.
    Dwell time is the time that your gas operated weapon maintains pressure to continue the cycling of the weapon. It primarily exsists from the time the bullet passes the gas port in the barrel to the time the bullet exits the muzzle. When you pull the trigger and fire the weapon the movement of the bolt carrier group unlocks the bolt, extracts, and ejects the spent casing. Then it cocks the weapon, feeds, chambers the next round, and then locks again. One of the thing that can make SBRs finicky is the dwell time (or lack of).