Page 1 of 8 123 ... LastLast
    Downloads
    Uploads

Classy and experimental

Well I'm getting in deep with this one. What started out as a simple idea has blown up and blossomed into what's shaping up to be a top shelf component experimental build. Be prepared, this may turn into a wall of text.

I wanted to start shooting further and gain FPS. I also wanted to play around some and see just how smooth, flat, and soft I could keep the rifle while doing it. I also ALSO wanted to keep it reasonably light and well balanced, with respect to the fact this would be a longer rifle running a heavier profiled barrel than the ultra light ones currently in vogue.

Can I do it? Will it work? Well here's where I'm at.
    Here's the build list and the why's.

UCWRG Billet lower. Why? Several reasons, not the least of which is just because it's cool and coveted. I like large magwells, and as a former machinist I can appriciate the immaculately clean, complex machine work this lower is laden with. I've also been an avid BAD lever user since inception and I'm eager to try the mag release/bolt hold open feature in comparison.

The grip is my stippled UCWRG Grip 23. I wanted to keep my Umbrella parts together and couldn't find another, so instead I jacked it from my other rifle and ordered a B5 to take its place.

The trigger is a Giessele SD3G. I love my SSA-E but want to see if I can go even faster with a trigger designed to do just that. I got the flat bow so my finger will never be confused as to which trigger it's on. I installed it with the 3.5# trigger spring.

Take down pins and safety are all from B.A.D. - No further explanation required.

The buffer system is a DD carbine length, with a carbine buffer and Springco "white" spring. More on this in a bit.

The upper will probably be a San Tan because I think it would look sweet with the Umbrella lower and is fairly light for a billet. I *may* try and hold off for an Umbrella upper just because Umbrella, but probably not.