Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Downloads
    Uploads

Good AK style starter rifle?

I'm going to finally buckle down and buy an AK. One friend recommends a WASR10, the other recommends a Yugo M70. I've held a customized WASR10, it was a very nice rifle but I don't know much about it.

Which would you recommend and why? I have little to no knowledge about AK's which is why I'm buying one. Looking to customize it as well (AR-15 buffer stock adapter, pistol grip, railed handguard, etc) so thats something to keep in mind. Guess I want another project gun and figured I should try out the AK platform.

Thanks
    Last edited by odmichael; 26 April 2015 at 23:41.

Downloads
    Uploads
    I'd recommend a Century Arms C39 when they are back in-stock. Milled receiver, chromoly nitrided barrel on the V2 and chrome lined on the V1; don't know if you can get a V1 anymore. They are about the cheapest AK's you'll find with these upgrades. The quality is very good also, as good as the higher end ones in my opinion.

http://www.atlanticfirearms.com/comp....html?Itemid=0
    DEUTERONOMY 6:5
    flickr
    facebook
    The gift of mental power comes from God, Divine Being, and if we concentrate our minds on that truth, we become in tune with this great power - Nikola Telsa

Downloads
    Uploads
    My suggestion would be to look into Arsenal. Keep in mind these us all come in parts kits to the US then US made parts are added to meet 922r requirements. When put together the dealers don't have trained people doing it so sights are canted, parts are poorly put in etc.
    I know Saiga is looking to open a US plant, I can attest to them being pretty stinking nice for an AK variant.

If you want THE AK check out Chris Butler at AKUSA or Jim Fuller at Rifle Dynamics. Bit an Arsenal should do you well. They are put together nicely no canted sights and you don't have to worry about it blowing up in your face.