Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Downloads
    Uploads

AR Red Dot or 1-4

AR Optics? I am looking at options for optics. I like red dots. The versatility of a 1-4 is attractive. I picked up a "blue" AR at Academy Sports today. It had a Leupold VX-R Hog on it. It wasn't illuminated, but it seemed pretty easy to get on target quickly. I had both eyes open while trying it and I could see it working pretty well. I have no real experience with any optic on an AR, this seemed very fast and easy. If I went with the 1-4 I am pretty sure I would want an illuminated reticle option. Are 1-4s that much slower than a red dot? Thanks
    Facebook - Marty Callan

Downloads
    Uploads
    Think about how you shoot most often. Perhaps a red dot with a swing you the side magnifier would work better for you if you shoot 200 yards or less? You can always add the other later, no matter which you choose.
    There's no "Team" in F**K YOU!

Downloads
    Uploads
    The red dot is much faster in my experience than the 1-4. You also get unlimited eye relief with a red dot. 100 yards in, a red dot is your winner.

Downloads
    Uploads
    Marty why don't you try and shoot irons for awhile. After you use them for a bit you'll have a good feel of what you'll need for your type of shooting.

Downloads
    Uploads
    Mission dictates the gear. How will this be used? For general duty in most applications, the red dot is king. Illuminated scopes have a poor battery life compared to optics like an Aimpoint and they are heavier/more bulky. The 1-4 shines in a designated marksman role and for 3-gun type shooting.

Downloads
    Uploads