Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Downloads
    Uploads

Suppressed 300blk SBR malfunction

I'm hoping for some insight for an uncle who had a problem with his SBR today.

While running through some ammo he had a round get stuck in the chamber. The bolt was 90% closed and couldn't bull the charging handle back. The round wouldn't seat all the way or come out.

After mortaring the stock into ground a few times he finally got the round out.

Here is the round compared to three spent casings.

Would I be correct in assuming the spent casing that is bent is due to hitting the brass deflector?

Here is the round compared to an unused round

And in between two other rounds

Here is also three unused rounds. Not one that jammed.

Looks like not a great "remanufacturing" job but I'm no expert

Also of note, after he got it unstuck I asked him to manually cycle a few rounds to see if they got hung up or marked up at all. The third or fourth round he cycled out of the magazine chambered but when he pulled the charging handle to eject the round, the round stayed in the chamber and the bolt didn't extract it

Downloads
    Uploads
    I can't really tell because the case is so dirty, but it looks like they didn't properly size the neck and shoulder of that brass or size it period.

Downloads
    Uploads
    Another option that it could be (and I am no 300 expert) is overgassing and carrier speed. I was having a problem with my 10.5 where the bolt speed was just too fast. It was not only chewing up brass but it would literally bend the brass in all sorts of ways. I had several problems like you describe above (only with .223).

My bolt wouldn't close all the way and some brass would look mangled.

That problem seems to have been eliminated by going to a heavier H2 buffer and now even a different buffer spring.

Downloads
    Uploads
    That ammo looks like garbage. Almost certainly the cause.

Downloads
    Uploads