Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Downloads
    Uploads

Need Help Tightening Up My Groups

Took out my new rifle today and I would like some advice on what I might be able to do to tighten up my groups. I set this rifle up to be a Recce type rifle with more accuracy as a priority while still maintaining the ability to be used in multiple roles. My disclaimer for this post is that I have very little experience with magnified optics. I have probably less than 200 rounds downrange in my lifetime through any magnified optic. Here are the pertinent specs of the rifle:

1. SMOS GFY chassis
    2. Larue 16" PredatAR barrel (1:8 twist, 5R rifled, SS)
    3. Vortex Strike Eagle 1-6x scope in Burris PEPR QD mount
    4. Ruger 2 stage trigger

Name:  IMG_1375_zpsyp5mldvh.jpg
Views: 1049
Size:  200.4 KB

First I zeroed my rifle for 50 yards per the instructions on the use of the BDC reticle on the Vortex Strike Eagle scope. I shot with my FF rail resting on sandbags with no rear rest. I zeroed at 50 yards with PMC X-Tac 62gr green tip 855 mil spec ammo. The first picture is of the full target. The center of the target is getting sighted in. The top right is a 5 round group to get a more precise zero. The top left target is a 5 round group that represents my final zero. I made an adjustment of 2 clicks down between the top right and top left target. Those 2 5 round groups make a very good 10 round group of about an inch at 50 yards with 62 gr mil spec ammo. Because of this I was expecting 2-3" groups at 100 yards.

Name:  IMG_1377_zps3pt0lbnf.jpg
Views: 1624
Size:  220.8 KB
    Name:  IMG_1379_zpsb4xaepx6.jpg
Views: 1178
Size:  175.1 KB
    Name:  IMG_1378_zpsmquo7up3.jpg
Views: 1122
Size:  183.7 KB

See the next post for 100 yard groups.
    Last edited by rxer311; 5 October 2016 at 16:41.

Downloads
    Uploads